clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All Of Your Trophies Belong To Royce And Company


Well, most of them anyway...

On Sunday The Big XII handed out it's annual All Conference awards. Multiple Cyclone players and well known sex symbol/head coach Fred Hoiberg took home some hardware.

Royce White was a Unanimous selection All-Big XII First Team, Newcomer Of The Year, and All-Big XII Rookie Team.

White is the second Iowa State player in league history to be named top newcomer. A unanimous selection for the award, he averaged 12.9 points per game and ranks second in rebounding with 9.2 per contest. He was also fifth overall in assists with a 5.2 average, dishing out five or more in a game 17 times in 2011-12.

Head Coach Fred Hoiberg was named Co-Coach of The Year along with Kansas' Bill Self.

Hoiberg wins coaching accolades after leading the Cyclones to the greatest turnaround in Big 12 history. Iowa State won nine more games than a year ago and earned the No. 3 seed in the Big 12 Championship. Self is named top coach for the third time in the last four seasons and fourth time overall after leading KU to its eighth consecutive Big 12 regular season crown.

Scott Christopherson was named All Big XII Third Team along with Chris Allen and Melvin Ejim who were selected as Honorable mention All-Big XII.

2012 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Men's Basketball Awards Announced

The Cyclones will now face Texas on Thursday in the quarterfinals of the 2012 Big 12 Tournament.