clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

E.J. Bibbs Named to Mackey Award Watch List

The John Mackey Award award is given annually to the nation's best tight end.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Iowa State tight end E.J. Bibbs has been named to the John Mackey Award Watch List.  According to the official press release, the John Mackey Award is "given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee."

The winner will be announced on December 10th with the presentation of the trophy being made on The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU the next night.  Here is the complete watch list:

First Name Last Name Class School
Rory Anderson Sr South Carolina
Kennard Backman Sr UAB
Blake Bell Sr Oklahoma
EJ Bibbs Sr Iowa St
Pharaoh Brown Jr Oregon
Kyle Carter Jr Penn St
Kivon Cartwright Sr Colorado St
Gerald Christian Sr Louisville
Braxton Deaver Sr Duke
Thomas Duarte So UCLA
Luke Eakes Sr Northern Illinois
Evan Engram So Ole Miss
Billy Freeman So San Jose St
Darion Griswold Jr Arkansas St
Connor Hamlett Sr Oregon St
Hunter Henry So Arkansas
Mitchell Henry Sr WKU
Jeff Heuerman Sr Ohio St
Wyatt Houston So Utah St
OJ Howard So Alabama
Jesse James Jr Penn St
Malcolm Johnson Sr Mississippi St
Ben Koyack Sr Notre Dame
Tyler Kroft Jr Rutgers
Devin Mahina Sr BYU
Taylor McNamara So Oklahoma
Jimmy Mundine Sr Kansas
Johnny Mundt So Oregon
De'Marieya Nelson Sr Arizona St
Nick O’Leary Sr Florida St
Casey Pierce Sr Kent St
Sean Price Jr USF
Jay Rome Jr Georgia
Tyreese Russell Sr E. Michigan
Wes Saxton Sr South Alabama
Randall Telfer Sr USC
Eric Tomlinson Sr UTEP
CJ Uzomah Sr Auburn

Bibbs finished his 2013 campaign with 462 yards receiving on 39 catches and two touchdowns.  Although his scoring dried up late in the season he had instrumental catches against both Kansas and West Virginia and converted a key two point conversion in the third overtime in Iowa State's season ending victory over West Virginia.  New offensive coordinator, and tight ends coach, Mark Mangino has raved about Bibbs so far and expects him to be an all conference performer.  If he can do that he might very well receive a special phone call in December.

Bibbs becomes the second Cyclone to make a preseason awards list with Aaron Wimberly being named to the Paul Hornung watch list yesterday.  The Paul Hornung Award is given annually to the nation's most versatile performer.