clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Six Cyclones Selected To All-Big 12 Conference Teams

Cole Netten and Allen Lazard highlight Iowa State inclusions for conference awards.

North Dakota State v Iowa State Photo by David Purdy/Getty Images

Iowa State football didn't end the season with the final record that the fans or coaches wanted, but that didn't stop some Cyclone players from bringing home Big 12 postseason honors.

In all, six Cyclones were named to the 1st or 2nd teams by the Big 12 Conference. On top of that, first-year head coach Matt Campbell took home honorable mention Coach of the Year honors, finishing behind Oklahoma's Bob Stoops for the big award. West Virginia's Dana Holgorsen was also selected as an honorable mention COTY.

The two Cyclones named as 1st Team All-Big 12 players were wide receiver Allen Lazard and kicker Cole Netten. Lazard was one of the league's premiere wideouts and finished alongside Baylor's K.D. Cannon, Oklahoma State's James Washington, and Heisman finalist Dede Westbrook from Oklahoma. Meanwhile, Netten was the sole 1st Team placekicker after missing just one field goal all season and finishing his career as Iowa State's all-time leading scorer and most accurate kicker.

2nd Team selections for ISU comprise of offensive lineman Nick Fett, safety Kamari Cotton-Moya, and defensive tackles Jhaustin Thomas and Demond Tucker.

Joining Coach Campbell in the honorable mention category included Willie Harvey (Linebacker), Netten (Special Teams Player of the Year), Kene Nwangwu (Kick/Punt Returner), Brian Peavy (Defensive Back), Patrick Scoggins (Offensive Line) and Jomal Wiltz (Defensive Back).