clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WRNL Preseason Award Watch Lists

Who is going for some hardware this year?

Happy opening day everyone! Congrats to college basketball for finally getting it right and not starting the season on a Friday night with nobody watching. By now, you’ve all seen the news that Lindell Wigginton was named to the preseason Naismith Award Watch List, given to the nation’s top player. A great honor it is to be named alongside freshman who have never played college basketball and whatever guy from Kansas or Villanova is supposed to step up this year. Since basically every publication can create and name their awards, we figured we should get in on the fun. Get excited because here are the official WRNL awards and watch lists:

Perry Ellis Award

Given annually to the player who everyone asks, “How is he still in college?” West Virginia’s Jevon Carter dominated this award for the last 8 years, but finally graduated, leaving the field wide open. Baylor’s Jake Lindsey is already the favorite to win this in 2019, as he will miss the season with an injury.

LeGerald Vick (Kansas)

Kerwin Roach (Texas)

Jaylen Fisher (TCU)

Nick Weiler-Babb (Iowa State)

Norance Odiase (Texas Tech)

Dean Wade (Kansas State)

Tyler Self Award

This award is given to the best coach’s son on dad’s team in the country.

Brad Calipari (Kentucky)

Brad will reportedly redshirt this year, but was still named by the committee.

Buddy Boeheim (Syracuse)

I have no idea if Buddy is good, but I’m delighted that 73-year old Jim Boeheim has a son that is a freshman on his team.

Connor McCaffery (Iowa)

The overwhelming favorite.

Harrison Barnes All-American Award

Given to the freshman who has already locked up a lottery spot in the 2019 NBA Draft and will definitely be the best player in the country even though nobody has seen them play a whole game yet.

RJ Barrett (Duke)

Cam Reddish (Duke)

Zion Williamson (Duke)

Tre Jones (Duke)

Quentin Grimes (Kansas)

Romeo Langford (Indiana)

Nassir Little (North Carolina)

...a little curiou$ how $o many of the$e guy$ ended up at Duke, hmm?

Bob Bowlsby Formal Apology Award

The committee feels strangely confident about this one, as they’ve even listed dates to watch for.

“2nd Round-Undrafted” Award

These players will be all-conference or All-Americans before entering the NBA draft, and the NBA will say, “no thanks.”

Dean Wade (Kansas State)

Sagaba Konate (West Virginia)

Udoka Azibuke (Kansas)

Ethan Happ (Wisconsin)

Nick Ward (Michigan State)

Mike Daum (South Dakota State)

Luke Maye (North Carolina)

Bob Huggins Wardrobe Award