clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Cyclones Receive AP All-Big 12 Honors

David Montgomery headlines the first team.

NCAA Football: Baylor at Iowa State Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

The AP released their All-Big 12 first and second teams on Friday and a few Iowa State players were represented. David Montgomery was the lone first team selection as a running back. Montgomery, a first team selection for the 2nd consecutive year, finished third in the Big 12 with 1092 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns on the season. Hakeem Butler was a 2nd team selection. Butler set multiple school records while topping 1100 yards receiving on just 51 catches and lead the league with 22.1 yards per reception.

Defensively, Ray Lima, Brian Peavy, and Greg Eisworth were all named to the 2nd team. Peavy had 51 tackles and 8 pass breakups on the year. He was also a 2nd team selection in 2017. Eisworth led the team with 84 tackles and also had a sack, an interception, and 2 forced fumbles. Lima was a force throughout the year on the defensive line with 3.5 tackles for loss and 33 total tackles.

Surprisingly absent was quarterback Brock Purdy as the Newcomer of the Year. That honor went to Kansas RB Pooka Williams Jr.