clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

100 Things Cyclone Fans Should Forget Before They Die: Will Clyburn “Charge” Call Vs. Ohio State

New, comments

Somehow only the second worst thing that happened in that game.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Iowa State v Ohio State Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

Shortly before Aaron Craft’s prayer sent Iowa State packing in the 2013 NCAA Tournament, the Ohio State guard made the 2nd biggest play of the game.

With 1:47 remaining in the game and the Cyclones clinging to a 1 point lead, Will Clyburn barreled towards the basket and banked in what should’ve been a shot that would’ve put Iowa State in the driver’s seat. Unfortunately, Aaron Craft had slid underneath Clyburn, and the official mistakenly called a charge.

Here’s why the call was wrong:

As you can see, Craft’s foot was over the restricted arc, and thus, should’ve been a block. USA Today gave a good explanation of the rule following the game.

Following the tournament, the NCAA implemented a new policy nicknamed the “Aaron Craft Rule,” which states that a defender may not slide underneath an offensive who is already in the air in order to draw a charge.