clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Official WRNL All-Decade Cyclone Basketball Team

We introduce our all-decade basketball team.

NCAA Basketball Tournament - Second Round - Arkansas-Little Rock v Iowa State Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

With the 2010s coming to an end, we decided to vote among ourselves on the best Cyclone basketball players of the decade. Our judging criteria limited us to only considering a player’s performance within the decade. For example, only Diante Garrett’s senior year would be considered since he mostly played in the 2000s. We voted on a starting five, and five subs off the bench, regardless of position.

Starting Five

Monté Morris (2013-2017)

Nevada v Iowa State Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images

One of four unanimous selections to our All-Decade Team, Monte Morris is the greatest point guard in school history, and it’s not really close. Morris set the NCAA record for assist-to-turnover ratio three times in his career, and leads the school in assists, steals, and assist-to-turnover ratio.

Naz Mitrou-Long (2012-2017, redshirted after eight games in 2015-2016)

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-First Round-Iowa State vs Nevada James Lang-USA TODAY Sports

A five-year member of the Iowa State basketball team, Naz Mitrou-Long was the quintessential team leader on and off the court, and hit big shot after big shot on his way to becoming one of the fans’ all-time favorite players.

Georges Niang (2012-2016)

NCAA Basketball: Kansas at Iowa State Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

The second of our four unanimous selections, Niang’s unparalleled scoring presence from anywhere on the floor, as well as his leadership and swagger made him a fan-favorite. Niang currently sits second all-time at Iowa State in career scoring.

Melvin Ejim (2010-2014)

Iowa State v Notre Dame Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

Our third unanimous selection, Ejim was the prototypical do-it-all guy that led the way in ushering in the newest era of Cyclone basketball success. Ejim led the Big 12 in scoring, and was named Big 12 Player of the Year in 2014, and is second on Iowa State’s all-time rebounding list.

Royce White (2011-2012)

Our final unanimous selection, Royce White led Iowa State in points, rebounds, assists, steals, and blocks in his only season in Ames. His performance took Iowa State to the NCAA Tournament, where the Cyclones took down Andre Drummond’s UConn Huskies before falling to Anthony Davis’ Kentucky Wildcats in the second round. Even against The Brow, Royce consistently looked like the best player on every court he played.

Bench (in order of total votes received)

Deonte Burton (2015-2017)

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-Second Round-Purdue vs Iowa State James Lang-USA TODAY Sports

Tyrese Haliburton (2018-present)

NCAA Basketball: Seton Hall at Iowa State Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports

DeAndre Kane (2013-2014)

Iowa State v North Carolina Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

Matt Thomas (2013-2017)

Nevada v Iowa State Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images

Will Clyburn (2012-2013)

Iowa State v Ohio State Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Also Receiving Votes (in order of total votes received)

Dustin Hogue (2013-2015)

Marial Shayok (2018-2019)

Tyrus McGee (2011-2013)

Chris Babb (2011-2013)

Jameel McKay (2014-2016)

Nick Weiler-Babb (2016-2019)

Scott Christopherson (2009-2012)

Lucca Staiger (2008-January 19, 2010) (Editor’s note: Damn it, Jared.)