clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Iowa State Football Watch List Season Recap

Brock Purdy and Greg Eisworth lead the way for Iowa State on watch lists for the 2020 season

NCAA Football: Camping World Bowl-Notre Dame vs Iowa State Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

Watch list season has come and gone and Iowa state is well represented to start the 2020 season. This year we are highlighted with Brock Purdy and Greg Eisworth each racking up three preseason nominations. Below are all the nominations for Iowa State.

Brock Purdy

The Maxwell Award

This award is given out to the best player in college football during the college football awards the Thursday before the Heisman Ceremony.

Wuerffel Trophy

This award is given to a player for their work in their community.

Davey O’Brien Award

This award is given to the best quarterback during the season. It is the nation’s oldest award for quarterbacks.

Breece Hall

Doak Walker Award

This award is given annually to the nation’s best running back. Troy Davis won a similar award which called the Jim Brown Award.

Charlie Kolar

Biletnikoff Award

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the season’s most outstanding FBS receiver, at any position.

John Mackey Award

The Mackey Award is presented annually to the most outstanding tight end in FBS college football.

Greg Eisworth

Bednarik Award

This award is given to the nation’s best defensive player of that season.

Jim Thorpe Award

Jim Thorpe Award is given to the best defensive back in college football.

Bronko Nagurski Trophy

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented to the nation’s most outstanding college defensive player.

JaQuan Bailey

Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Bailey is the second Cyclone on the Bronko Nagurski watch list for the 2020 season.

Mike Rose

The Butkus Award

This award is given to the top linebacker in college football.