clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Klein, Knott, McDonough Make All-Big XII First Team

Despite an injury that caused him to miss Iowa State's last four games Jake Knott was rewarded with a first team selection. He is joined by A.J. Klein for his second straight appearance and newcomer to the First Team, Jake McDonough. Below are the All-Big XII selections and individual awards with commentary to follow.

Cooper Neill


Offensive Player of the Year
Collin Klein, Kansas State, QB, Sr, Loveland, Colo.
Defensive Player of the Year
Arthur Brown, Kansas State, LB, Sr, Wichita, Kan.
Offensive Newcomer of the Year
Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, RB, So, Temple, Texas
Offensive Lineman of the Year
Cyril Richardson, Baylor, Jr, Fort Worth, Texas
Defensive Newcomer of the Year
Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, DT, Jr, Tulsa, Okla.
Defensive Lineman of the Year
Meshak Williams, Kansas State, DE, Sr, Sylvester, Ga.
Offensive Freshman of the Year
J.W. Walsh, Oklahoma State, QB, Denton, Texas
Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Nick Florence, Baylor, QB, Sr, Garland, Texas
Defensive Freshman of the Year
Devonte Fields, TCU, DE, Arlington, Texas (unanimous)
Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year
Bill Snyder, Kansas State, 21st Season

Co-Special Teams Players of the Year
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State, PK/P, Sr, Mansfield, Texas
Tavon Austin, West Virginia, KR/PR, Sr, Baltimore, Md.


Pos. Coaches AP
QB Collin Klein
Collin Klein
RB Joseph Randle* Joseph Randle
RB John Hubert
FB Trey Millard
WR Terrance Williams Terrance Williams
WR Tavon Austin Josh Stewart
WR Stedman Bailey Stedman Bailey
TE Travis Tannahill Travis Tannahill
OL Cyril Richardson Cyril Richardson
OL Cornelius Lucas B.J. Finney
OL Gabe Ikard* Gabe Ikard
OL Lane Taylor* Lane Taylor
OL LaAdrian Waddle LaAdrian Waddle
PK Quinn Sharp Quinn Sharp
KR/PR Tavon Austin Tavon Austin
Pos. Coaches AP
DL Jake McDonough Kerry Hyder
DL Meshak Williams Meshak Williams
DL Devonte Fields
Devonte Fields
DL Alex Okafor Alex Okafor
DL Stansly Maponga
DL Calvin Barnett

LB A.J. Klein A.J. Klein
LB Jake Knott Jake Knott
LB Arthur Brown* Arthur Brown
Kenny Cain
DB Ty Zimmerman Ty Zimmerman
DB Aaron Colvin Aaron Colvin
DB Tony Jefferson Tony Jefferson
DB Jason Verrett Jason Verrett
DB Kenny Vaccaro
P Quinn Sharp Quinn Sharp
Pos. Coaches AP
QB Geno Smith Geno Smith
QB Landry Jones
RB James Sims James Sims
RB Damien Williams
FB Kye Staley
WR Chris Harper Tavon Austin
WR Kenny Stills Kenny Stills
WR Darrin Moore Darrin Moore
WR Eric Ward
TE Jace Amaro Trey Millard
OL Tanner Hawkinson Tanner Hawkinson
OL Lane Johnson Cornelius Lucas
OL Blaize Foltz Blaize Foltz
OL Trey Hopkins Ivory Wade
OL Joe Madsen Joe Madsen
PK Anthony Cantele Anthony Cantale
KR/PR Justin Gilbert Tyler Lockett
Pos. Coaches AP
DL Adam Davis Adam Davis
DL Vai Lutui Stansly Maponga
DL David King Dartwan Bush
DL Chucky Hunter Calvin Barnett
DL Kerry Hyder
LB Shaun Lewis
LB Bryce Hager Bryce Hager
LB Ben Heeney Ben Heeney
LB Kenny Cain Eddie Lackey
DB Cody Davis Nigel Malone
DB Durrell Givens Durrell Givens
DB Sam Carter Sam Carter
DB Bradley McDougald Kenny Vaccaro
DB D.J. Johnson
DB Demontre Hurst
P Kirby Van Der Kamp Alex King

It was nice to see both the coaches and writers reward Knott with a first team placement and it definitely was well deserved after the Cyclones' defensive troubles in the month of November. What may be more surprising than McDonough's placement on this list is the inclusion of Klein. Klein was not dominant early in the season and became even less of a factor after Knott went down and he moved to the WILL position. No complaints here though as Klein has certainly proven over and over that he is an All-Big XII talent.

Kirby Van Der Kamp and Durrell Givens both made the second team and Carter Bykowski was an honorable mention, the only Cyclone offense player to get any All-Big XII honors. With Quinn Sharp still in the league it's tough to argue any placement higher than second team for Kirby, and given his improvement these last three years, I expect him to have a firm spot on the first team in 2013.

One can argue that Jacques Washington may have deserved second team alongside Givens but it's hard to give two All-Big XII honors to a secondary that ranked 8th in pass defense in conference play. Givens' inclusion on this list likely has more to do with his turnovers gained than his technique or dominance.

As for the rest of the league, there are few surprises. Collin Klein took home Offensive Player of the Year and was joined by teammate Arthur Brown as the Defensive Player of the Year. Lache Seastrunk's late season surge propelled him to Offensive Newcomer of the Year. My most curious placement had to do with Meshak Williams winning Defensive Lineman of the Year over Devonte Fields. While Fields was named the Defensive Player of the Year I thought his disruption and consistency was enough to earn him the Defensive Lineman award as well. However, knowing the Big XII they probably have some archaic rule in place preventing a player from winning multiple awards.

The actual teams themselves are relatively the same across the Coaches and AP, but Devonte Fields still got too little respect with the lack of an unanimous placement on the Coaches' list. Geno Smith and Landry Jones split QB duties on the AP Second Team while Smith has it to himself on the Coaches. McDonough was left off the AP team all together in favor of Texas Tech's Kerry Hyder.

Here's one final stat for you that illustrates the parity in the Big XII: This is the third year in a row that Texas has not placed an offensive skill player on either the First or Second Team All-Big XII.

Parity indeed. Let us know what you think about the 2012 All-Big XII Teams and any players you felt were severely wronged in the process.